National Merit Scholarship (1)

MNPS Students Star as National Merit Scholarship Finalists
Posted on 02/25/2022

Sixteen MNPS seniors have been named finalists for the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship, placing them in an elite group of students from across the country.

Just 15,000 students were named finalists – less than 1 percent of the nation’s high school seniors – for the scholarship, which will be awarded this spring based on skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

“These students are some of the very best in the United States, and I know they're going to go on to even greater things after they graduate this spring,” Director of Schools Dr. Adrienne Battle said. “I’m so proud to congratulate each of them, their families, and all the MNPS teachers, principals and other staff members who have played such important parts in their educational journeys.”

The National Merit Scholarship finalists are:

Hillwood High School: Rudra Patel

Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet High School: Arden Anderson, Dustin Averbuch, Ellie Berg, Emily Gilmer, Anastasia Gukasova, Sharon Lee, Jennifer Li, Elisabeth Peebles and Rena Shi

Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Magnet High School: Eric Lutz, Alexander Mayo, Laurel Nicholas, Julie Qi and Zayaan Rahman

Nashville School of the Arts: Maya Underwood

Three types of National Merit Scholarships totaling nearly $30 million will be awarded to approximately 7,500 students starting in March.

MNPS Students,Class of 2022,National Merit Scholarship Program