Teacher of the Year Finalists

MNPS Names Teacher of the Year Finalists
Posted on 02/02/2022
Apollo Middle Teacher of the Year Finalist being hugged

K.Butler at Hillsboro getting hug from Principal

Eleven MNPS teachers have been named finalists for the district’s Teacher of the Year award for 2021-22. The teachers and their schools, listed by tier, are:

  • Kristen Britt, Cane Ridge Elementary
  • Joye Bryant, A.Z. Kelley Elementary
  • Kimberly Davidson, Amqui Elementary
  • Norma Yoos, Gower Elementary
  • Kirsten McGlone, Apollo Middle
  • Ashley Seigal, Croft Middle
  • Tomas Yan, Antioch Middle
  • Kristin Butler, Hillsboro High
  • Zach Fox, Martin Luther King Jr. High
  • Alesha Handy, Hume-Fogg High
  • William Jackson, East High

District leaders joined school principals in surprising the finalists in their classrooms this week, drawing loud cheers and applause from excited students and appreciative co-workers. Apollo Middle teacher getting hug

The 11 finalists bring a wide range of experiences to a variety of subject areas and grade levels.

“These teachers do amazing work every day not only to share what they know with their students but also to know their students as individuals and to help them learn, grow and ultimately succeed,” Director of Schools Dr. Adrienne Battle said. “A teacher’s work is never done, but our MNPS teachers do it with joy – and they are extremely effective at it.”
Featured News
Team MNPS,Teachers